The panel cannot be installed

Hello,

i inserted

‘panel’ => true

in /site/config/config.php, but still get a " The panel cannot be installed" message, what i am doing wrong ?

return [
‘debug’ => true,
‘panel’ => true,
];

Are you trying to install locally or on a remote server? panel: true is the default anyway.

On a public server, you have to set the panel.install config option to true.

Hej,

thanks, this was the problem. Was on a remote server.

Now its up an running.

Hey Where exactly I should put that? I’m working on a sub folder on my own domain and when I’m trying to access the panel I get

The panel installer is disabled on public servers by default. Please run the installer on a local machine or enable it with the panel.install option.

Thanks a lot.

In your /site/config/config.php: https://getkirby.com/docs/reference/system/options/panel#allow-the-panel-to-be-installed-on-a-remote-server

I have this problem and the solution is not working. I am new at this. Shared hosting, and I cannot get to the panel even after adding this code to the file as it says above. Assume “public server” means shared hosting? No problems with any other sites (running other CMS) on this shared hosting. So what am I missing here? The shared hosting directory structure is such that the domain for Kirby is an addon. Perhaps I am missing something with that? Thanks!

Hey @sheri_g,

Do other subpages of the site work? What is the error message you get? Have you deployed the .htaccess file as well? Files with dots are hidden by default.

No, public server means anything that is not a local development environment. It can be shared hosting or a dedicated server or a VPS or whatever.

What do that mean?

It is a subdomain on my server space up on the shared hosting. I just cannot get this to work. Thanks!

Ok, thanks, but what about the other question I asked above.