HowTo: Start Kirby development on a PC

Introduction

Remarks

• This Cookbook shows, how you can install XAMPP on an Windows-PC to use it for Kirby as a development system.
    Hint: Follow it step by step!
  • Important Safety Notice:
    XAMPP should not be used as a web server, that can be accessed from the internet! The safe operation of the web server is not guaranteed with XAMPP (look at the first section of About for details or in German at FOCUS berichtet: XAMPP ist schuld am Hack der Bundespolizei)!
  • For me as an civil engineer I give only technical informations here. You will NOT find any instructions on how to design a web page!

Your Preparation

• Learn as much as you can about PHP, HTML5 and CSS,
    starting in German e.g. at SELFHTML-Wiki .
  • Learn about Kirby:
    read the whole Docs before you start developing!

Hardware and software for windows computers

Hardware

• any windows computer (PC)
    – with WinXP (no longer safe!), WinVista, Win7, Win8 or Win8.1, in future Win10; 32 bit or 64 bit
    – as desktop, laptop or notebook
  • an USB hard drive (no USB stick!)
    e.g.: 500 GB, 2.5 inch drive, UBS 2 or USB 3 (about 55 euros including VAT in Germany, less than 0.15 kilogram, very small).
    I just have to transport this hard drive and have all the software as well as all data and files at hand. Therefore, I usually do not require Internet access in order to see the website and edit it during the developing.

I assume in this cookbook, that this USB hard drive is drive “E:”.

If you want to develop the website only on your PC, you can save the investment of an USB drive and then use your normal hard disk drive. In this case read “C:” instead of “E:” in this cookbook!

Software

I use on my private PC (Win7 64-bit, 8 GB):

• XAMPP, look at the next chapter “Step 1”,
  • Notepad++, one of the best editors I know,
  • GIMP, a very good raster graphics editor,
  • Inkscape, used to draw and edit vector graphics,