How to make a website? I'm searching a better way

Hello together,

I make my personal website with kirby but I’m not a professional webdesigner or so.

That’s way I have a question about the best way to make the website ready.

My way of writing is actually so:

1.) Write a function or code
2.) Put the content in the fields
3.) Write the corresponding css

But I see now that is not very efficient because as a Newby the Code and CSS isn’t really clean on the first time. So I have to re-write many of the code.

So I want to know if it is better when I go this way:

1.) Write all functions and codes
2.) Put all content in the fields
3.) Write the complete css

I hope you understand my little problem and can me help a little bit.

Greetz

Markus

1 Like

The best approach (for me at least) for new sites and when trying new ideas is to create a static HTML version of your templates first. Basically without Kirby at all. You can then write all the CSS for it and optimize until you think that the template is ready.

So the approach is the following:

• Write static template HTML
  • Style it with CSS
  • Convert the static HTML to a Kirby template by creating fields in the blueprint and using them in place of the static HTML content
  • Insert your actual content in the Panel
4 Likes

My approach is completely different, I never write static HTML and I don’t start out with the CSS either. I do everything with Kirby right from the start.

• I think about the sort of content I need first and the sort of fields that content would require
  • next is the structure of the website as a whole, recreated as a folder structure in Kirby
  • if I have content, I insert the actual content once the structure and blueprints are defined, otherwise I use placeholders
  • scribble sketches of how it could look on the page
  • break structure down to patterns (love using the patterns plugin)
  • design those patterns both HTML- and CSS-wise