Commerce Plugin - interest?

I’ve found that the #1 reason I have to choose Wordpress over Kirby these days is when my client needs an e-commerce solution. So let’s change that, let’s make a commerce plugin for Kirby! And obviously it has to be named Kirby Kommerce.

I’ve had extensive experience with developing ecommerce systems in the past. Before I used Wordpress, I was actually developing them from scratch. Now about half the sites I do are built on WooCommerce. I know where the common pitfalls are, the user complaints, and how to organize it into something reusable (and extendable).

The basic, obvious features will include:

• Default blueprints for products
  • Shopping cart templates
  • Payment gateway API
  • Customer login / registration
  • Order management (for admin & customer)

The non-required features that are important to me:

• Event hooks to modify display and behavior
  • Login/registration not necessary to purchase
  • Product variations & options
  • Add-ons and coupons
  • Downloadable products

Technologically, there are many directions it could go. Purchases and customer data could be stored in a database, but I really prefer Kirby’s NoDB approach, so I’m going to try to avoid using MySQL. Security will be top priority, so I won’t even give the option of “manual processing” credit cards - you’ll need to use a gateway like Stripe. Additionally, it may be smarter to split the project into multiple plugins that accomplish different functions, rather than a big all-in-one solution. Lastly, I’m not going after Magento. This will not be a solution for companies that have 1000’s of products, this would be a Kirby-based alternative to Wordpress/Woocommerce - the websites that sell a few dozen items, maybe in the low hundreds.