What did you learn by using Kirby, except using Kirby?

What did you learn by using Kirby, except using Kirby?

Except from learning how to use Kirby, what did you learn? Do you work different or think different? I do.

My background is that I used WordPress for 7 years so I compare much to that.

I don’t need a UI for everything

I was used to set up everything in the admin. It was just the way it was. I’m surpriced how much you can do without a user interface. I’m talking about blueprints, blueprint fields, config and even content.

It’s even more affishent in many cases to work with plain text. Bug free too (if not the text editor hangs).

Add what you need, instead of remove what you don’t

When using WordPress it has tons of stuff, in the admin and in the html output. To remove it you need to install a few plugins and still it’s hard to remove everything.

In Kirby it’s the opposite. We start with a clean slate and add what we want. If we want a sitemap, we need to add it, but it’s really simple in comparison.

When everything is perfect it’s easy to be perfectionistic

Because the html output is exactly what we make it, it’s easy to start fine tuning on the details. It takes a little longer but get so much better.

I even removed jQuery from my sites because I found out I did not need it.

Even a flat file system can have relationships

I did not know before that a flat file system can have relationships. I mean like, get every page that has the category hats.

Build stuff like lego

I have started to think about building stuff like lego. It’s easy to get lost in a function mess if you don’t separate things clearly. I also avoid to code too complex stuff. I prefer knowing what I’m doing, instead of having a complex code that I get lost in.

Dependecies is a bad thing