Customers that go back to WordPress

As a front-end designer, I love the simplicity and flexibility of Kirby CMS. But recently I’ve had some customers who have decided to go back to WordPress.

The reason is mainly that they are not developers are need to pay for every change they want to make. They say that with WordPress they have more options to customize the site without writing code.

I would like to know if you have had similar experiences and your opinion about it.

I’m sur that when these customers will have changed 10 times 10 plugins and after 2 or 3 crashed, they will be back to Kirby with a more precise idea of what they want. :wink:

Personnaly, I had more troubles to convain (wordpress user) people with markdown. For exemple, Kirby columns plugin was for me a super solution. But for some (a lot) of users, it was difficult and fastidius, they prefered the wordpress text editor.

I had to re-think about how to build an admin and explain why it is a better solution for them. This way I also learned a loooot about how to define clients needs.

I find that generally people think Wordpress is the best because they don’t know any better. Its all about eduction. Once you prove the benefits of a system like Kirby, it’s all down hill from there. If my clients want a Wordpress site, I tell them to find another designer.

4 Likes

I heard that complaint, too. It’s a super interesting topic to discuss!

In my opinion you can totally provide WordPress-like customization with a Kirby based website. Most of the time that won’t make it any better.

While it may be true that Kirby sites tend to lay down a stricter content structure, I think it really depends on how you:

1. understand the needs of the particular website and customer
  2. communicate the intentions and goals of your approach/solution
  3. use/create plugins to achieve an intuitive panel workflow