Trying to set up Kirby 3 on my local machine - Chromebook

I’m not a coder, but I thought that once I’d got an install of Kirby I’d be OK. However, I only have a Chromebook, which can run Linux (beta) . I’ve managed to install all sorts of things… Terminal, Files, Atom, Virtual Box. For some reason I can’t get Xampp to install.
I’m struggling to understand where anything is.

So maybe I should give up and go for hosting on Siteground (where I have used WordPress before) but the instructions are a bit vague " 2. Extract the contents of the ZIP file into your server’s web root"

If I don’t understand this, should I just give up with Kirby? I watched the zoom meet a couple of nights ago, and it looked doable, once I’ve got an installation.

Hi, and welcome to the forum :~)
I opened a thread a while ago about Kirby development on Linux. While I have to say it was more complicated to set up a working development environment than on Mac OS, I followed @sebastiangreger’s tip and managed to get Valet working on my machine. The great thing about Kirby is that it doesn’t require a complicated database setup (XAMPP or the likes).

I used to also not be a coder… My advice: Don’t give up! It might be complicated to get a local server running at first, but once that step is done, using Kirby is an absolute bliss :slight_smile:

Also using Valet Linux on Ubuntu, worked out of the box, no experience with Chromebook though.

The webroot also called docroot is the folder on your hosting, where you have to put your website project to be publicly accessible.

When you download a Kirby Starterkit, you get a ZIP file, this ZIP file needs to be extracted, then all the unzipped files and folders must be moved to this webroot folder, including the invisible .htaccess.

But I wouldn’t recommend using a remote server for development, a working local dev environment is the better option.

1 Like