Problems Menu builder cookbook examples

Hi,

I’m very new to kirby and so far I’ve managed to customise the main panel dashboard a little and created a few templates and tinkered with blueprints a little so I can have a selection of layouts and blocks just so I can begin to formulate how I’d like to structure content in pages etc… so far so good. I started learning Kirby a while ago but then found myself side tracked by other things so I’m essentially starting from scratch again.

Now I’m looking into getting some menus working and I don’t want to hard-code them. This brought me to Menu builders | Kirby CMS now I’ve probably missed out some crucial information somewhere, but I’m unable to get any of the examples to work.

From reading Menu builders | Kirby CMS it seems that I have to put the snippets into site.yml so I started there

Here is my site.yml in case you’re wondering

columns:
  - width: 1/2
    sections:
      articles: sections/articles

sections:
      pages:
        type: pages
        create:
          - fulltext
        templates:
          - about
          - home
          - pricing
          - fulltext

So I thought I’d add in :

mainMenu:
      label: Main menu pages

to the second column you see there and I get a list of pages cool, I thought, but the template output example doesn’t work, Oh, hmmmm so there’s something else I’m missing then. I re-read and noticed this line “The easiest way to create a custom menu from existing pages is the use of a pages field:” I then went down the rabbit of hole of trying to use the field I got that work display a list of pages I could select (yay) but then the output example in the template still did work, so clearly this isn’t the way after all but does that go into site.yml file or elsewhere?