Panel Field Type for attachments like documents?

Hello,

I am fairly new to Kirby.
Is there a field type which handles attachments, like PDF?
I can’t find a proper type. I checked the Panel Field Types already.

I need to serve 1-3 documents to download (mainly PDF) for the site visitors.

There is no particular field, you can either use a select field or have a look at the Kirby selector field. Then you can server these files for download via your template.

Ive done something similar to this in the past - I would suggest putting a button next to the select that triggers the download, otherwise you end up with lots of wasted downloads because people like to play with selects.

The select field in the Panel does not trigger a download… I guess you mean in the frontend? But the question was about Panel fields.

Yes - sounded to me like they want to populate a select on the front end from a field on the backend.

For the frontend, it makes sense not to trigger a download from the select. But then, I wouldn’t use a select on the frontend, anyway. Rather an image of the cover or something more appealing.

Hello and good morning,

thank you for your replies.
What I need is for the backend to upload some files, i.E. pdf. And give those Files a proper screen name.
On the front end, in the template, I just a simple list with the screen name and the direct link to the files.

Cheers
Stefan

Ah, ok, then you don’t need a field at all, you can use the file section in the sidebar to upload files. Just make sure to allow file upload in your blueprint file settings.

files: true

Or limit filetype upload:

…
files:
    type: document

Sure, I would personally do a list on the page. A select is over completing it. My use case for the select was a site menu for mobiles, and picking from the select changed the page rather then triggering download.

@StefanG You can easily do a list on the page with file type icons (via FontAwesome) like this:

<ul class="download--list">