Panel field type for video

Hello Kirby Community!

I am quite new to Kirby and in the process of adding a video to my page. I want to enable my content editors to add a video without touching the template files.

The way Kirby integrates images into blueprints is very convenient and I was quite disappointed that there is no ‘video’ or ‘file’ equivalent.

Have I missed something? Or can you point me into a direction to achieve a similar functionality for video as Kirby offers it for images?

Thank you
Sven

Hi @0xSven, unfortunately, there is no dedicated video field. You could just use a standard text field or create a custom Panel field yourself.

You could also use a select field like this:

fields:
  video:
    label: Video
    type: select
    options: videos

Not as visual and without drag and drop support, but it works out of the box. Alternatively you could copy the image field to your site/fields directory, rename it video and modify it to load videos instead of image files.

Thank’s for the replies!

I like the select field for now. If I find some time I will build the custom field later!

Quick follow up question: How would I get to the URL of the video? I tried several ways but wasn’t successful.

Ways that don’t work:

$page->file($data->myVideo())->url();
url($data->myVideo());
$video = $data->myVideo()->toFile(); $video->url();

What is $data in your example? Is that code on a one pager?

It’s the data of a snippet on a one-pager:

<?php foreach($page->children() as $slide): ?>
<?php snippet('slide', array('data' => $slide)) ?>
<?php endforeach ?>

This should then work:

<?php
$data->file($data->myVideo()->value())->url();

Or

<?php
$video = $data->myVideo()->toFile();
echo $video->url()

Works!

I had another problem though: There were several slides without the video and those broke the website!

Thank you all! I am happy :slight_smile: