Kirby theme folder

I wonder if it would be a good idea to group assets, snippets and templates in a theme folder (site/theme). I mean in a future Kirby version.

• site
    • theme
      • assets
      • snippets
      • templates

It could be possible and practical?

You can do that with a plugin, but if it would be for your entire site it would be a hassle imho.

If it was for me I would follow the “Kirby conventions” about this.

What would be the advantage, considering that templates and content files are closely related?

Maybe this will help?

https://getkirby.com/docs/developer-guide/plugins/registry

If I would create a theme of some kind I would probably make a plugin and call it my-theme. That way the theme will be separated from the other things. I would also register all needed things with the extension registry features.

Yes, I know that content, blueprints and templates are closely related. The idea would be to group the theme files in a folder.

I have no experience developing plugins. I suggested it as an idea to integrate in the folder structure.

I also like to follow Kirby conventions, you avoid a lot of future problems.

I don’t think there will be a theme support in the future (I can be wrong). Kirby is very different in structure to other CMS:es for example WordPress.

While WordPress uses hooks and filters everywhere and always have like a default setup of fields in the admin, the Kirby setup is much more customizable. For example, the blueprint can be empty and no fields would show up in the Panel. Just a thing like that would be hard in WordPress.

I think theme support can work but I also think that it would be tricky to get it right. It would probably generate more support questions like “My theme does not work! Why not?”. It could also attract the “wrong” kind of users, the newbies that never seen a computer before.