General Image Handling

Hello everyone,

I am still relatively new to kirby and have a question about images. I have already researched the fact that there is no direct “file manager”, but there are various workflows. However, none of them have solved my problem so far. I have the following requirements and hope that someone here can help me:

• Images should be stored centrally (so that images that are used twice or three times do not have to be uploaded 3 times)

• This also means that I should be able to access this “pool” of images from different pages

• Uploading should still work via the subpages if possible

• I came up with this idea to make it easier for my customer to delete images. I.e. the images should be able to be deleted via this central location

• I have set various elements so that they cannot be saved without an image. So you shouldn’t be able to accidentally delete images that are being used. Gff you simply cannot display them. But only in the upload window.

An alternative would be to display on a subpage which images are in use on that subpage and can be deleted from there. Then you would have to upload images several times, but that would be ok for the size of the page. The only problem I have here is that the entire website is built with “blocks” and I cannot create sections.

Two options here:

1. Save them directly under /content as files belonging to the site object
  2. Save them in a dedicated page

That’s no problem, you can query from site or this dedicated page as parent

No problem either by setting the parent as above.

That is generally a problem that is not so easy to prevent, but can be done, e.g via a hook if you know where your images are stored. It might make sense to somehow keep track of used images in that case.

Thanks for the answer! Do you have an example for any of your points? Im having a hard time to implement this. i understand the logic but i don’t know how to apply it to kirby.