Can I unregister a license for Kirby 3?

Hi all,

licenses are sold now via Paddle, so the process of registering has changed. My question is: Once I have bought a license for a new website and registered, can I afterwards ‘unregister’ this same license for the website and instead use a new license to register the website?

Background of the question:

As a developer, I would like to buy a license which I would only use for presentation purposes - in order to be able to go live without waiting for the client to buy their own license.

For example: I would register website A with my license. Once the client has bought their own license, I would ‘unregister’ my license on website A and use the client’s license for website A. And afterwards I would use my own license for the next live presentation of website B etc.

Would that be possible with Kirby 3?

Thanks in advance & best,
juarry

AFAIK, unregistered installations give a notification in the panel only. So you could setup and present as such, and once they register the notification will vanish.

Edit: I’m not sure, but I thought I read up on slack that on localhost the notification doesn’t appear? If so, maybe you can demo from localhost if you really don’t want that notification to appear?

Thanks for the quick answer - this sounds great.

Localhost would not work for me, since my clients are remote. But if there is still (like with Kirby 2) the possibility of going live - at first - without a license, that would solve my problem.

Sure, you can go live, but there will be a notification warning panel users that they run an unregistered version of the CMS.

Good to know, I am going to warn my clients beforehand.

Thanks a lot! :smile:

Just so you know: the notification will show up on localhost.

Yes, the license warning is displayed both on localhost and once you go live without a license.

While you don’t need a license on localhost, you (or your client) does need a license once the site goes into production.