Basics: Grids, Frameworks

Hi!

I’m still a newbie to web design and Kirby (and this forum!) is great tool to learn. Thanks for that!
At the moment I’m trying to build a website from scratch using Kirby plainkit. I’m also trying to keep things as clean and fast as possible. (planing to use a CDN and custom version of jQuery)

My question(s): Do I need Bootstrap or Foundation for creating a responsive design? And is Bootstrap already build into Kirbys core? (there is a bootstrap.php in plainkit?) I just need a simple gridsystem for my templates. So is there an advantage using bootstrap? Couldn’t I use just this CSS from the columns plugin?

.columns {
  margin-right: -2rem;
}
.column {
  display: inline-block;
  vertical-align: top;
  padding-right: 2rem;
}
.columns-1 .column {
  width: 100%;
}
.columns-2 .column {
  width: 50%;
}
.columns-3 .column {
  width: 33.33%;
}
.columns-4 .column {
  width: 25%;
}
.columns-5 .column {
  width: 20%;
}

Many thanks!
J

You don’t need any frameworks nor jquery to make a responsive website :wink:
The bootstrap.php file is here to literally boot strap things in Kirby. Open it and you’ll see for yourself!
I recommend trying to build your own grid for your project, as you’ll learn a lot more! Don’t hesitate to come here for help at any point!

3 Likes

Hi @RDR,

the plainkit does not contain any CSS, it’s indeed intended to start from scratch.

The bootstrap.php file has nothing to do with the Bootstrap CSS framework.

And no, you don’t need either Bootstrap or Foundation, nor in fact any other grid system to build a simple grid. The CSS of the columns plugin or the starterkit can indeed serve as a starting point. You may also want to look into using flexbox.

Edit: Bootstrap and similar CSS frameworks - while sometimes good for quick prototyping - just bring a lot of bloat to your website, so I would no recommend them.

3 Likes

And if you want a kick-start, consider the use of a light-weight boilerplate, like Skeleton.