API, decoupled/headless front-end, KirbyText and markdown: General ideas

I want to start a general discussion about the promise using Kirby decoupled/headless for front-end applications consuming its data.

So, I’m pretty new to Kirby. I evaluated tons of CMS for my clients and this year I found Kirby (with a couple of other solutions) being the way to go for my next projects.

Kirby keeps “promising” and mentioning that it’s also optimized for usage in a headless context and e.g. could be consumed by front-ends using whatever framework.

I’ve set myself up with a small Eleventy (11ty) test use case and this seems to work so far without issues. And thanks to the “Better Rest” plugin, I can also deal with KirbyText, which otherwise would be more difficult due to the fact, Kirby doesn’t simply use Markdown for all text formattings.

Which brings me to the point where I asked myself what the general idea is or was for developers to consume the API. Unless Kirby would provide an official SDK or library for the front-end that can deal with stuff like KirbyText, there is not much of a use case, from my point of view, why the API would respond with unparsed KirbyText. With other CMS and headless solutions either responding with HTML or markdown which at least is a no brainer to integrate into a decoupled web platform (and most likely also into other platforms like Android and iOS as it’s a widely adopted standard), it doesn’t make that much sense with KirbyText as it is it’s very own, Kirby specific thing.

The “Better Rest” plugins solves that problem and I even asked to also add markdown parsing in the plugin itself as it doesn’t make much sense to do one thing on the back-end and one thing on the front-end. But in general I believe, the cases from the “Better Rest” API plugin, including the KirbyText parsing and markdown parsing should come from the Kirby core, either per default, as a config or as a query parameter to define the format of the response.