Any tips on getting started with Kirby? (coming from Webflow)

Hi everyone.

Has anyone ever used Webflow and their code export option as a starting point for Kirby?

… or is it better to just start from a blank slate? (this would probably be above my skill level if I’m being honest)

Always liked the look of Kirby and only ever hear good things about it so any advice helpful - Thanks!

1 Like

I have no experience whatsoever with Webflow, so can’t tell.

Kirby requires you to write your HTML and your styles yourself, with a bit of PHP to get the logic in.

The best starting point is our annotated Starterkit and the guide. Everything else is just trying it out and asking specific questions here when you get stuck. We are here to help.

Welcome to our community.

@texnixe Thanks!

You came to right place :slight_smile: I know Webflow quite well, and actually when I found Kirby, I though that it’s great alternative to Webflow expensive hosting and limited CMS.

Yes, it’s good starting point. You will have ready HTML files with all other assets (CSS, JS), and to make them work with Kirby, you will just have to “inject” necessary content inside your files. For example if in Webflow template you’ll have this fragment <H1>My website</H1>, then you change it to <H1><?= $page->title() ?></H1> (sure can be different code, but just to give idea), and then in your page blueprint you have to add field “title” (which is just writing few lines), and it dinamically shows title. For Webflow “collections” you would need to use php “foreach”. Even not being programmer, it’s easy to understand by examples.

It will take time and stress to learn in the beginning, but then work is smooth and nice.

Hope to see your first converted project soon!

3 Likes

This step can be skipped in Kirby 3 due to the fact that the title field is always existing for every blueprint, even if you don’t define it inside your blueprint. This behavior is different to the old Kirby 2 behavior.

1 Like