How to get the most out of Kirby for new/beginner developers

Hey everyone.

I have relatively little experience in web develop outside a couple of units I’ve done at university all I’ve ever really done is a few lines of css here and there. I’m a fairly competent OO programmer (Java and C++) as far as students go.

I was attracted to kirby because of the fact that I didn’t really want to have to bother with a SQL database for my website. It was also recommended to me because of the way the blueprints work and how with some little code you can have a really cool website because of the way you split up Input fields for example.

I’m hoping some of you could point me to some cool features of Kirby that I should be using to get the most out of the CMS for my site.

A bit about my site:

I’m doing a site for a charity, it doesn’t need to be very complex or super detailed, just 5 main pages with some sub-pages and support for articles/maybe blogs. It’ll have a heavy focus on pictures and inphographs to eliminate clutter and reduce how much text is on the page.

As long as everything is interactive and mobile friendly I think it’s at least a good start.

Maybe the Starterkit is a good thing for you? Its really nice to start with :slight_smile:

Here it is: Kirby Starterkit

There’s also a few basic docs you might want to check out:

The most important one: the cheatsheet, whenever you need to check what methods you could probably use and which parameters they require.

Some solution post

1. Creating Menus: https://getkirby.com/docs/solutions/menus
  2. Creating a Blog: https://getkirby.com/docs/solutions/blog

There’s also the base blog Kirby theme by @sashtown https://github.com/sashtown/baseblog which might help when creating a blog.

1 Like

For keeping your templates DRY: