Use of special characters in blueprint yml files (Umlaute)

Hi all,
I am new to Kirby, started testing it.

Question: If I use german special characters (‘Umlaute’) in the bluepringt yml, even if written in double quotes, the panel throws always an error message ("The JSON response from the API could not be parsed. Please check your API connection. ").
If I replace the ‘Umlaut’ with a non-special character, it works well (e.g. “ä” replace by “ae”).

My yml file throws an error:

title: B
fields:
      proficiency:
           label: "Geschäftsbereich"
           type: text
           placeholder: "Geschäftsbereich, zB. Schmuck & Objekte"

This version does not throw an error:
> title: B
> fields:
> proficiency:
> label: “Geschaeftsbereich”
> type: text
> placeholder: “Geschaeftsbereich, zB. Schmuck & Objekte”

I am aware of UTF-8 recommendations concerning file storing. If this is the issue, how can I properly influence the file storing configuration on a Linux server? (I do not assume that I have to write a batch file to ‘iconv’ every yml-file, no?). What is a good practice?

Or is there another root cause for the error messages?

Thanks a lot for your help!

Good question I’ll check in my installation because this should be possible without problems.

Edit: Umlauts in labels in my dev environment work with & without quotes, same for the placeholder. Tested on a Mac using Valet. Also works under Ubuntu with PHP’s built-in server.

Is the mbstring extension installed and enabled? php -m in terminal shows installed modules.

What text editor are you using?

And is file encoding actually wrong? What do you get when you type file -i path-to-blueprint-file in terminal?

Have you checked your browser console for more information about the error?

Oh, and welcome to our forum, of course :slightly_smiling_face:!

1 Like

Thank you for your swift response, your advices and your kind words!