Setting default file/folder permissions, locally, in linux/osx

Hello,

As kirby needs apache to be able to write in several folders, I resorted to changing the group of all files and folders in my kirby installation to www-data, apache’s group in linux (_www in osx I think) and giving the group write permission.

But whenever I create a file with sublime text or if I ‘touch’ it in the terminal , I need to run all this again.

So I used the setgid bit to set the default group of newly created files to apache’s but I am still looking for a way to set default permissions, to give WRITE to that group.

There is umask, but I’d say that works systemwide ?

How do you people do it ?

Thank you

Hi,

I’m no expert on this but from what I can tell you are creating a file in sublime or the terminal under your normal user account. Is this user apart of the www-data group? Who is the owner of your files and directories?

I have just been doing some testing on my server and with a permissions of 2774 on directories and 0664 on files and my user being part of the www-data group. Touching a test file gives it the owner of my user and group of www-data with rw permissions for both owner and group. Let me know if this helps at all :).

I also just made a directory with the same result.

*Edited to mention directory

Cheers!

Hello!

When I or an application that I run creates a file or directory it creates it as owner/group mal/mal, with group NOT having write access.

For kirby to be able to write or modify these, it needs to have apache or its group (www-data) either as owner or group, PLUS write access for www-data. As said, by default, group does not have write access.

This is localhost btw, in a server it may differ.

And yes, mal is part of www-data, but I think that does not make any practical difference.

I will check the permissions you refered to.

Thanks!

Ahhh I see - I understand a bit better.