Proper way of handling portfolio with 'builder' pages

I’m working on a portfolio website that allows a user to create ‘projects’, and using this builder plugin add in re-usable sections to ‘build’ unique project pages. This is harder than I thought it was going to be (I’m new to Kirby), but I’m sure it’s possible.

As an example of something that I feel like I’m doing wrong; I tried adding a ‘files’ section to the builder but I’m only allowed to select images, not upload. To get around this, I created a new tab that the user can upload their images to and then select them, but this seems wrong to me and seems to be causing a lot of issues.

It’s hard to explain my problem, so maybe someone can take a look at this and tell me if I’m on the right track:

I feel like it’s getting this back-end stuff right that’s slowing down progress. Overall I just feel like I’m doing things wrong here.

1 Like

I didn’t have to time to run your code but i did pick through it on Github. The way I handled this was to use the columns layout in the blue print to make 2/3 column and and 1/3 column. I used the smaller one as a settings column. Thats where I put all my file & pages sections, and stuff like a toggle for adding it to the sites main navigation.

This particular page has side bar on it, so the theres a toggle there to flip it from the right to left side of the page… you get the idea.

Then i set up 3 separate builders (page body, sidebar, footer). That way I can make lots of different kinds of blocks.

Along the bottom I put my images section, since i like the tiles layout. Heres a screen shot of pretty much with what I have in it… it even has a gallery block :slight_smile:

I hope that helps. It saves you having to dedicate a tab for uploads and taking the focus away from the page. I didnt find this ideal myself, so I get your niggle :slight_smile: