Kirby and Nginx

This is a suggestion for the Docs. Can we get documentation on the Nginx setup for Kirby? @bastianallgeier

Edit: Not looking for a solution but proper documentation. Might help those switching from Apache to Nginx.

Hmm… Just setup nginx+php-fpm/fastcgi and setup/convert the .htaccess rules. There exist online converter and I saw in the old forum some basic nginx rules. Just adapt the paths, names, ports and stuff to your needs.

I got kirby running on centos7/nginx1.6.2 with php-fpm. No problems here.

I’m not an nginx expert but I can share my own rules. I’m afraid I can’t really document them. Maybe some nginx expert can join in here: https://gist.github.com/bastianallgeier/c2e1f1e519f5f2943ec4

Thanks. I have had Kirby running on Nginx for the past year or so now. I’m not looking for a solution as I tried explaining above.

That’s unfortunate. Kirby gives Apache users an htaccess file out of the box. I just think that if Nginx is an alternative in the requirements, it should come with some documentation. Perhaps in the future.

@chrisburton I absolutely agree. With Apache this kind of stuff is just super straight forward as you don’t have to mess around with your main Apache conf in most cases. You just add the rewrite rules on top of it. With Nginx you always have to touch the virtual host config and I don’t want to give any hints here which might lead to a unprofessional or even insecure setup. The only way to solve this professionally would be to hire an nginx expert and let him write an example config. But this would still probably not be applicable for all users as virtual host setups can be anything from very simple up to super complex.

That’s very accurate but all you need really is to document the configuration of the location blocks as you’ve done in the gist posted above. Anything else the user needs to take responsibility for.