How to build simple 2/5 page text sidebar?

I’m relatively new to Kirby – most of my site is built.

I’ve figured out columns, but I’d love to have a sidebar on one of my information pages (roughly 2/5 of the page with the rest of the page being text and images as needed). I can’t seem to figure out how to do this, between snippets, plugins, et al.

(I should note that I’ve been coding most things by hand and haven’t used the panel much.)

I think it must have something to do with columns but I can’t seem to sort out how to do that without changing the column definitions for the site overall, which is undesirable. I’m sure it’s something obvious.

Thank you!

The columns plugin only affects the very space in which the columns are used, the textarea of a page. What you need is an overlying grid that creates a separation between your sidebar and the space that contains the textarea. With that you define columns of the width 2/5 for the sidebar and the width 3/5 for the textarea (which itself can contain columns - a nested layout). You can either build your own definitions to create that overlying grid or use something like Skeleton or Bootstrap or Zurb Foundation. Skeleton is nice for simple setups, with only a couple of features.

http://getskeleton.com/

You can then create an invisible page (plus sidebar-snippet) for the contents of the sidebar and put any content that you need there, giving it the grid width 40% and a template for any page that you want to have this sidebar, giving it the grid width 60% (in the CSS definitions).

The snippet for the sidebar might look like this:

<div class="three columns">
  <div class="sidebar">
    <?php echo $site->page('sidebar')->text()->kirbytext() ?>	
  </div>
</div>
1 Like

Thank you so much – I made the snippet and the template but I’m afraid I’m not understanding how to get those in the kirbytext. Would you be game to walk me through it? I’m really new.