Getting started with Kirby

Hi there,

I’m new to Kirby and have installed PHP and MAMP on Mac. I can access the Kirby installation via localhost://8888/kirby however, I only see a list of files and folders in the browser. When I click on panel I only see files and folders. I downloaded the Kirby starter kit, extracted the files and copied the Kirby folder into the htdocs folder. Kindly let me know if that’s the way to go. Many thanks :slight_smile:

If you put all the files directly into the htdocs folder, the Starterkit should be accessible under localhost://8888, without the kirby path

Thank you for getting back to me. I copied all files that were inside the Kirby folder into the htdocs folder and typed localhost://8888 but I get a message saying that Safari cannot make a connection.

I use MAMP on my Mac and this is the message that shows in Safari after typing localhost://8888:

Willkommen bei MAMP

Wenn Sie diese Seite sehen, dann bedeutet dies, dass MAMP erfolgreich eingerichtet und gestartet wurde. Sie können jetzt Ihren Web-Inhalt hinzufügen, diese Platzhalter-Seite1 sollten Sie ersetzen bzw. löschen.

Server-Software: Apache/2.4.54 (Unix) OpenSSL/1.0.2u PHP/7.4.33 mod_wsgi/3.5 Python/2.7.18 mod_fastcgi/mod_fastcgi-SNAP-0910052141 mod_perl/2.0.11 Perl/v5.30.1
Server-Name: localhost
Document-Root: /Applications/MAMP/htdocs
Protokoll: http
PHP 7.4.33

1 Datei: index.php

For the latest Starterkit, you need at least PHP 8.

When you say kirby folder, I guess you mean the complete contents of the Starterkit you downloaded, not just the kirby folder that was inside?

I put the folder Kirby inside the htdocs now and the following shows when I type localhost://kirby I see a list of the files

No, only the files inside the Kirby folder

You need to have the following files in your htdocs folder, the kirby folder alone is of no use:

That is, everything that was inside the starterkit folder you got when you unzipped the download.