Get extreme value of a structure field column

Hi there,

I have a structure field with a date column. I need to extract the earliest of these dates. Is there any simple way to to this? I am still kind of new to PHP and Kirby.

Thanks!
trych

Sort items by date and get the first item:

$structureItem = $page->structurefield()->toStructure()->sortBy('date', 'asc')->first();
echo $structureItem->date()->toDate('Y-m-d');

An alternative would be to pluck() all dates and then to use a PHP sort method to sort this array of dates and get the lowest.

On a side note, please always choose a question category that corresponds to your Kirby version. The above code won’t work with Kirby 2.

Ah, sorry, I was not aware that I can pick a question category. Will keep that in mind for next time.

And yes, this is indeed for a Kirby 2 project. Any way to get this to work with Kirby 2?

Yes, the change only affects the date method:

$structureItem = $page->structurefield()->toStructure()->sortBy('date', 'asc')->first();
echo $structureItem->date('Y-m-d');

Hm, this gives me an error Call to a member function date() on null on the second line.

I put it in like this:

<?php foreach ($pastShows as $show): ?>

<!-- get premiere year -->

<div class="tr">
    <p><?= $show->title()->html() ?></p>
    <p>
      <?php
        $structureItem = $show->events()->toStructure()->filterBy('date', 'asc')->first();
        echo $structureItem->date('Y');
      ?>
   </p>
  </div>

<?php endforeach ?>

Am I doing something wrong?

Could you please post the blueprint with the structure field?

Here is the relevant part from the blueprint file:

fields:
  events:
    label: Aufführungen
    type: structure
    style: table
    sort: date
    entry:
      - date
      - context
    fields:
      date:
        label: Datum
        type: datetime
        modalsize: small
      context:
        label: Kontext
        type: text
      info:
        label: Zusatzinfo