Total newbie: putting my Kirby website on OVH

Hello,
A webdesigner made a wesbite for me using Kirby. I have all the files and want to put it online via OVH. I have the domain name and bought the hosting space. But now I am completely lost: I don’t know what to do next! I have tried googling but even the tutorials from OVH etc. are too technical for me (vocabulary). Could a kind soul help me?

All the best

Basically, you just have to upload all files you received from the webdesigner into your webspace.

You can usually do this from your hosting providers web interface without having to use any other tools.

But if you are completely lost, it might be best to ask this webdesigner to do this for you.

Hello,

Thanks for your reply. I did read the answer you provided to another user regarding uploading Kirby on OVH, and tried following the tutorial provided by OVH.
The issues I run into is that I had to chose a CMS module when buying the hosting space, and I chose wordpress, even though I don´t need such a CMS since the website was done by my webdesigner and doesn´t need to be updated anymore.
So now when I connect to the FTP file explorer of OVH where I have to upload my files, there are already folders from wordpress and I don´t know what I am allowed to delete or not.

Do you know what would be safe to delete?

Here is a picture of what the www folder contains on my OVH hosting space, before I try to upload my website files.

Remove everything in that folder, these are all WordPress related files

1 Like

Hi again,
Thanks for the quick answer. I deleted all these files. Now it´s just a matter of uploading my website folder with all my files, into this www folder, right? Or is there an extra step to make to ensure that the url will point to the right place?