Syntax Highlighting for Kirby Syntax in the Editor Brackets or BBEdit

Hi.
I’m completely new to Kirby : )

Congratulations on the release of Kirby 4!
You can tell how much care has gone into it just from the excellent documentation.
Great : )
I’m already looking forward to my first steps with Kirby.

Please allow me a question about syntax highlighting.

In text files there is a special syntax for fields:

There you can see the colored distinction.

Are there ready-made syntax highlighting configuration files for Kirby for the editor Brackets or BBEdit that I use on macOS?

Or would you strongly advise against using these two editors for certain reasons and use a different development environment/editor?

Thank you : )

Greetings, Andreas

Hello and welcome to the Kirby forum,

BBEdit automatically recognizes the format and selects the appropriate highlighting.
With .txt, however, there is no color highlighting.
You can change the assignment by manually assigning a different format to the file, e.g. YAML at the bottom o the editor-window:

If you always want .txt files to be highlighted as YAML, you can do this in the BBEdit preferences:

Thank you! Good to know. So this is usable as a temporary workaround : )

I don’t want to apply this syntax highlighting to just any TXT file.

So I have to find a way to “teach” BBEdit that a certain color scheme should only be applied in a certain context (local folder?).

How do you solve such tasks?
Does anyone use BBEdit or do you work with completely different development environments?

I have been using BBEdit for many years and it works very well with Kirby projects.
I am not aware of any function to define a folder (media) to display the contained .txt files separately. This is only possible in the preferences as a general setting for .txt files (see screenshot above).