Set page URL in YAML?

I’m new to Kirby, working on setting up a personal website to share some writing and a work portfolio. I’ve worked with other static site generators in the past–Pelican and Jekyll–which have their own learning challenges.

With minimal programming knowledge and a love of Markdown, I would rather create and edit pages as text files than by customizing and using the panel. In the panel, changing the URL of a page is simple. Is there a way to set the URL with a field in the YAML of a project.txt (or other page) file?

You could achieve that, but this would only work and make sense if you use a custom URL method in combination with routes.

So instead of using the standard url() method to create your links within the page, you would use a custom page method that generates the URL from that field. And then in your router, you would find the page by that field as well.

Why not rename the page folder instead?

Thanks. It looks like I should name folders instead, though I’m still trying to understand the folder structure for Kirby. One of the projects in my portfolio is “Classes and Talks.” I’m sharing a brief description and some slides as examples, and I’d like to have a separate page for each example.

If I create a folder inside the “1-classes-talks” folder, the subfolder doesn’t seem to generate a page in that directory (or at all?). In the panel, I think I created a page inside the projects folder, which allows me to create subpages. Here’s the folder structure I now have for a talk on e-readers:

1-projects
    1-classes-talks
    classes-talks
        1-e-readers

The resulting URL is “/projects/classes-talks/e-readers” which is what I’d like to have. It’s not how I thought folders would be nested.

it’s either this

1-projects
    1-classes-talks
        1-e-readers

or this

1-projects
    classes-talks
        1-e-readers

In both cases you’ll have a url that looks like this projects/classes-talks/e-readers