Select from existing or add new on-the-fly

Hi!
I’m new to Kirby! I’m not a proper developer, more of a designer that codes pretty well. Here’s my first post on the forum, and I’d love any help I can get.

So, I have a collection of artists. Each Artist have a structure field that holds multiple events (it’s a tour programme). Apart from the usual dates fields, every event has a venue. Venues can be same across different artists and consists of quite many fields. Now I’m looking for a way for the editors to reuse venues instead of typing the same information over and over again, while also being able to add new venues easily.

To my understanding I can setup a separate Venues page with each venue as a subpage, and then in the Artist blueprint use a page field that queries the Venues children. Another similar option is to use a structure field on the Venues page and use a select field with a query. The Venues page would never be visible in the frontend, it’s just in the panel to hold data.

Here’s the issue! None of these options give the editor the ability to add a new venue on the fly when filling out the event field on the Artist page.

I was happy to come across this plugin by @texnixe

The plugin seems to do more or less exactly what I needed. But unfortunately it seems it’s only for Kirby 2 :frowning:

Any smart approaches, plugins…? I feel I might be missing something obvious. It would be increadibly useful to be able to “quick add” to a collection without leaving the context where the data is actually used.

Tim

I’m not aware of a plugin for Kirby 3. I have always wanted to create a successor of this plugin for the pages field for the Kirby 3 port of the website for which I created it originally. But the sad truth is that I started but never finished.