Re "Creating pages from frontend" cookbook example

Complete noob with Kirby. I’ve managed to set up some custom page module snippets and set up my demo/test site so far. Creating content is great with Kirby, but i’m honestly not that much of a developer and I find the above mentioned tutorial from the cookbook utterly confusing / am overwhelmed.

So far I’ve created the registration-form.php and saved it in my “snippets” directory and created the “event.php” and saved it as a controller. Then the tutorial talks from another “event.php” that I’m supposed to save as a template. Done all that. No where can I add the registration form to a page, also when creating a new page I can’t find the event template in the template selection.

How do I include the form in a page or where is the registration form?

You need the following files:

• the event.php controller in /site/controllers
  • the event.php template in /site/templates
  • the registration-form.php snippet in site/snippets

I just noticed there is an error in the template, this line

snippet('form', compact('data'));

should actually be

snippet('registration-form', compact('data'));

(because that’s what the snippet is called), that is why the form doesn’t show up.

For the Panel, you would have to create a parent page (events) and subpages with an event.yml blueprint in site/blueprints. That is not part of the recipe, because the recipe deals with advanced stuff. Since you are new to Kirby, I recommend you read the basic documentation first, so that you know how to create blueprints for the Panel and what templates and controllers are good for.

1 Like