Plugin to Backup Content Folder as .zip

Hi all.

I am trying to write a plugin that backups the entire content folder as a .zip-file upon the click of a button in the panel. I am fairly new to some of these concepts and it’s more of a learning exercise for me, so please bear with me.

In my plugin’s index.php I have registered a route to create-backup. I am triggering that route through XHR from the Vue component. Everything works and the backups folder and backup.zip are successfully created.
I am, however, getting a 404 – Not Found error in the console — which I guess makes sense, given that there is nothing actually there. It doesn’t break the script but I am wondering if there is a more elegant solution to this?

In a second step, I would like to register the created backups to a backups array which can then be used to display them on the page.
This works find after I click the Create Backup button but I am a little on over my head when it comes to making that data persistent. Is there a way to send the backups array to the pages .txt and auto-save it after the click of the backup button?

Here is my (slightly abbreviated) code so far:

index.php

Kirby::plugin("jonasfeige/backup", [
  "routes" => [
    [
      "pattern" => "create-backup",
      "action"  => function () {
        $kirby = Kirby::instance();
        $backup_folder = $kirby->root("index") . "/backups";
        $content_folder = $kirby->root("index") . "/content";
        $content = Dir::read($content_folder);

$date = $_POST["date"];
        $zip_name = "backup_" . $date . ".zip";

Dir::make($backup_folder);

// ...
        // Create Zip
      },
      "method" => "POST"
    ]
],
  "fields" => [
    "backup" => [
      "props" => [
        "backups" => function ($backups) {
            return $backups;
        }
      ]
    ]
  ]
]);

Vue component

<template>
  <k-field :label="label">
    <k-button icon="check" @click="createBackup">Create Backup</k-button>