OAuth Authentication (& LinkedIn)

Hi,

I’m fighting with my feeble knowledge of PHP to build a LinkedIn plugin. Specifically, a plugin that can be used to post updates on a company’s LinkedIn page each time a new page from a certain category is published on the company’s website through the Panel. I already asked some infos on a previous topic, but I’ve now started to read about OAuth.

I’ve got a basic understanding of how it should work, but I have no experience in both OAuth and the LinkedIn API—or any API work. Can someone help me figure out all of that ?

Here are my thoughts on how I should go about developing it, feel free to tell me where I’m wrong. As I said, I’m not a PHP dev, but I need this for a client’s website.

0 Linkedin API SDK

I’m starting with this one : https://github.com/ashwinks/PHP-LinkedIn-SDK, looks clear and simple. (At least it’s simpler than https://github.com/Happyr/LinkedIn-API-client/ that I can’t seem to be able to install with composer).

1 Authentication process

In his dashboard, the user finds a widget with a button to log in to LinkedIn. The user logs in, is redirected back to his dashboard. The dashboard widget now displays his Linkedin profile in the form of his name.

Whenever posts a page with a special template, a call to the LinkedIn API will be made, posting a new “share” on his company’s page.

When the token is not valid anymore (60 days after the previous login), the dashboard widget will ask the user to authenticate again.

2 Behind the scenes

Depending on the authentication status, the widget will display different things. If there’s no token in the user’s account or if the token’s too old, the widget will thsplay the login link. If the token is valid, the widget will display the LinkedIn account info.