Kirby and Vue - Getting started

I’m testing to rebuild one of my Kirby sites with Vue to do some filtering. I’m new to Vue but I’ve successfully set up a Vue route.

This is how the footer.php looks like:

<script src="https://unpkg.com/vue@2.5.2/dist/vue.js"></script>
<script src="https://unpkg.com/vue-router@3.0.1/dist/vue-router.js"></script> 

<div id="app">
    <router-view></router-view>
</div>

<script>
var Home = { template: "<div>Home</div>"}
var About = { template: "<div>About</div>"}

var routes = [
    { path: '/', component: Home },
    { path: '/about', component: About },
];

var router = new VueRouter({
    routes: routes,
    base: '/subfolder',
    mode: 'history'
});

var app = new Vue({
    el: '#app',
    router: router
})
</script>

</body>
</html>

So if you get want to try out Vue, this can be a good start, maybe.

Updates

I did some updates in the script above and added mode and base.

You can also use a route to always point at the home page, which can be useful to not end up with 404 errors.

c::set('routes', array(
  array(
    'pattern' => '(.+)',
    'action'  => function() {
        return site()->visit('/');
    }
  )
));

A nice tutorial on Youtube (44 parts).

1 Like

Hello @jenstornell,

Thanks to share your code.
Do you recommend good tutorials to start with Vue and understand its logic?

I just added one a few seconds ago at the bottom of my post. But I’m really new to this as well.

The example code is very much based on this tutorial: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Xktwf4yS2g0

Ho sorry, I didn’t see the Youtube link.

Thanks, I will check it out :slight_smile:

Also, the vue.js documentation is a good starting point.

1 Like

Wouhaou, 33 episodes !
I hope it’s as exciting as Game Of Thrones :wink:

Thanks Sonja