How to ignore content folder in deployment

Hi everyone,
I noticed that if I make changes in my website and upload it again to the server, it overrides the content that has been added to the server website through the panel.

How can I make changes and still keep the content in the server site?

I tried to use the .gitignore file: I added the line: /content/home/* - but the effect is that it delets the content in the home folder (and not ignoring it)

I would appreciate any help! thanks in advance :slight_smile:

How do you deploy to the server?

Thanks for the reply,

I use github and deploy to heroku

You would have to remove and then .gitignore the complete content folder.

The alternative would be to commit all remote content changes to the repo as well (GitHub - thathoff/kirby-git-content: Commit and Push changes made via the Panel).

Thanks!
I still can’t manage to figure it out. I must confess that I’m a total beginner in github and kirby.
This is what I did:

1. I used this to remove the files:
    git rm --cached content -r

2. I added this line to the .gitignore file:
    /content/*

3. I pushed to server and content was deleted from the server site.

4. I added content through the panel to the server site

5. I made css changes in my files and pushed it to server and unfortunately the content was deleted again.

What am I doing wrong?
thanks for the help :pray:

The problem is that all changes arw always deleted when you push changes to Heroku. This doesn’t only affect changes to content, but also user accounts etc. Heroku doesn’t support persistent file storage, see Why are my file uploads missing/deleted? - Heroku Help

Oh I see,
So you don’t recommend using heroku with kirby?

(I’m not a backend developer and I definitely don’t know how to use s3 and data bases)

I think Heroku is not well suited for Kirby, at least not if you want to make changes via the Panel. But also things like caching or thumbs might not work as expected.

thanks for your help!