How to convert markdown to Kirby blocks at scale

Hi,

I have a blog with hundreds of articles in markdown files with YAML frontmatter.
The site is built with Jekyll and I would like to move it to Kirby.

The goal is to have all blog articles converted to Kirby-compatible files/folders with the correct permalink and the markdown content converted to Kirby blocks.

With a little bit of time, I can probably write a script to convert the markdown+frontmatter files to Kirby content files/folders. But particularly the conversion of markdown to Kirby blocks will probably take some time.
I would imagine someone has done this before. So I’m hoping to find help here?

(PS: I found this but it’s quite outdated, without documentation, and I’m not very experienced with PHP and not sure how I’d use this repo)

Hi, take a look at this Cookbook from @texnixe

Thanks a lot for sharing! From what I can tell this doesn’t automatically map to Markdown, though, right?

I’d first have to turn my Markdown into HTML and from that create an array elements (headers, text, quotes etc). With that I could then convert each individual block. I guess that’s possible. I was hoping for a less manual approach.

You can convert from Markdown to HTML programatically, Kirby is using YAML and Markdown.
I have done something similar migrating from Kirby v2 to the new Kirby Blocks:

$posts =  $page->children()->listed(); // get the posts collection

foreach ($posts as $post) { 
  $text = new Kirby\Cms\Block([
    'content' => [
      'text' => $post->text()->kt(),  // convert from Markdown to HTML
    ],
    'type' => 'text',
  ]);

$kirby->impersonate('kirby');

$post->update([
     'text' => $text,
  ]);
}

You’ll probably need to do a bit more to format the Jekyll content to Kirby but I hope that will serve as a starting point.
I hope this helps.

Thank you for the code example!