Git ignores certain Kirby files

Hi,

I’m new to Kirby and Git and just tried to set up Git for my Kirby installation. Strangely when adding the files to Git it ignored the contents of the following folders, saying something that they were modified/added but not commited:

site/fields/tabs
site/fields/participants
site/fields/fields/participants

The folders had .git/ subfolders in them which I moved out of the git folder-tree. But still the problem remains.

The files are not in .gitignore as this listing shows:

content/4-bilder-und-berichte/testbestbericht/img_1670.jpg.txt
site/cache/c18af9016cdab500a743b4afc22c5355
site/cache/e66639f378c9fcde14f2f8248c2d5cb9
site/fields/fields/.DS_Store
thumbs/1-2836772193330060275e0a6abb95a5c1.jpg

But they are also not in the commit:

site/fields/selector/selector.php
site/fields/selector/template.php
site/fields/tabs
site/fields/userrole/userrole.php
site/models/ericht.php

Can someone tell what’s the problem here?
Thanks!

I would probably trash the .git folder in the root of your project and start over. It’s not unusual for plugins and custom fields to have .git subfolder because some of them are compatible with being used as a git submodule, which allows you to update them directly from git rather then manually.

My usual workflow for setting up a new project and adding git is to do the following:

• Grab the kirby zip file from the website
  • Add a .gitignore to the root of the project. Tailor this to your needs, but I would suggest adding .DS_Store to it.
  • Intialise it as local git repo.
  • Add the remote to it when you ready to push to github or bitbucket.

On a side note, this path doesn’t seem right:

site/fields/fields/participants

Should probably be this instead

site/fields/participants/fields

Hi Jim,