Custom field, path to 'assets/fonts/' from 'assets/css/'?

Hello,

I made a custom field based on the select field, but with the ability to use FontAwesome icons.

To do that I created an assets folder for this custom field, and I put both font awesome fonts and its css in it as such:

assets/
  css/
    font-awesome.css
  fonts/
    FontAwesome.otf
    fontawesome-webfont.eot

So, the css tries to link the fonts, using a relative path, as such:

@font-face {
  font-family: 'FontAwesome';
  src: url('../fonts/fontawesome-webfont.eot?v=4.7.0');
  src: url('../fonts/fontawesome-webfont.eot?#iefix&v=4.7.0')

But, although the relative path is CORRECT, Chrome’s console shows me fonts are being searched for at ‘/panel/fonts/’ instead.

Why?

I am a newbie to custom fields and php in gernal , so if I am missing something basic from either php classses or, maybe, something declared in the original select field class, please let me know and I’ll read my reads.

Thanks!:sparkles:

Have you defined the assets in your field class: https://getkirby.com/docs/developer-guide/panel/fields#adding-field-assets?

Yes, that is the only extension I added to the original select field:

<?php

class selectawField extends SelectField {
	static public $assets = array(
		'css' => array(
			'font-awesome.css',
			'style.css',
		),
		'fonts' => array(
			'FontAwesome.otf',
			'fontawesome-webfont.eot',
			'fontawesome-webfont.svg',
			'fontawesome-webfont.ttf',
			'fontawesome-webfont.woff',
			'fontawesome-webfont.woff2',
		)
	);			
}

style.css contains this:

select, option {
	font-style: normal;
}

More, if I declare css, but I do NOT declare fonts in the field class, the result is the same.

Even more, if I change the relative path in FA css, from:

../fonts/font.xxx

to

font.xxx

Then it looks for the fonts under ‘panel/plugins’ instead of ‘panel/fonts’

Is Kirby hijacking the paths here?

Thanks