CSS request from nowhere?

Hi all - I am new to Kirby and am having a go at creating my first custom template simply by altering the default free template that comes with the install package.

My issue is I keep getting 404’s for css files that aren’t being requested in the html. Very weird!
Fore example, I’ve reduced the code in the default.php file to:

<!DOCTYPE html>
<head>
    <title>Template / Home</title>
    <link rel="stylesheet" href="assets/css/master.css">
</head>

<body>
 test
</body>

</html>

Yet I get 404’s as shown - where are they being requested?!

Thanks!

Your master stylesheet tells the browser to request a bazillion CSS files:

/* FONTS*/
@import 'https://fonts.googleapis.com/css?family=Merriweather:300,300i,400,400i,700,700i|Open+Sans:300,300i,400,400i,600,600i,700,700i,800,800i';
@import '../fonts/font-awesome-4.6.3/css/font-awesome.min.css';
@import '../fonts/stroke/style.css';
@import '../fonts/elegant/style.css';
@import '../fonts/pe-icon-7-stroke/css/pe-icon-7-stroke.css';
@import '../fonts/flaticon/flaticon.css';

/* PLUGIN CSS */
@import '../libs/bootstrap/bootstrap.css';                /* bootstrap */
@import '../plugins/bootstrap-select/css/bootstrap-select.css';   /* select customization */
@import '../plugins/headers/header.css';                /* header */
@import '../plugins/headers/yamm.css';                /* header */
@import '../plugins/slider-pro/slider-pro.css';         /* main slider */
@import '../plugins/owl-carousel/owl.theme.css';                 /* other sliders */
@import '../plugins/magnific-popup/magnific-popup.css';            /* modal */
@import '../plugins/animate/animate.css';                        /* animations */
@import '../plugins/revealer/css/revealer.css';                        /* animations */
@import '../plugins/parallax/parallax.css';                        /* parallax */
@import '../plugins/flowplayer/skin/playful.css';          /* video-player */

/* MAIN CSS */
@import 'theme.css';