Best way to approach an events calendar

I am trying to build an events calendar into a project, and am struggling how to approach it. I am pretty new to Kirby, but I have looked through the forums and can’t quite find the answer to what I am looking for. Apologies for the wall of text!

tldr; I can’t figure out a good way to create an events calendar with repeating events and a list/detail setup that doesn’t create duplicate page URLs or require manual intervention from the editor.

At the most basic, each event requires:

• eventTitle
  • eventStartDate
  • eventStartTime

It’s important to note, though, that some events repeat, and so wouldn’t have a unique Title. Think “Quarterly review”.

I went down the path of using mzur’s calendar plugin, and this seems promising. The plugin is based around the structure field, which is a good option for a bunch of repeating events mixed in with more detailed events. It’s easy to duplicate rows and modify the non-common data, like the date, which makes adding a bunch of events easy for the editor. I have that working just fine, but I end up with just a basic list view, where ideally I also need a detail page view, with a unique shareable URL and a place to output the sometimes blog-like post info for some “flagship” events.

My actual question:

Here’s where I get stuck: how would I then generate a separate (virtual) page for every item within the events structure field? (Is that even the right question to be asking?)

I thought about trying to generate a slug, but it appears the slug “sync” option only works with a single field, so entries with the same title would generate the same slug.

I have also tried a different approach using pages: