Update field data from frontend with uniform

hi!

i’m pretty new to kirby and especially to php trying to figure out step by step how to change content via forms from the frontend. i got the “creating pages from frontend” tutorial and was wondering how to do similar things, e.g. simply editing field data from a specific page, using the uniform plugin (advantage: clean code and more structure for having more than one form?) and custom actions.

my code:
template:

<form action="<?php echo $page->url() ?>" method="POST">
             <input name="eingabe1" type="text" value="<?php echo $form->old('ptext') ?>" placeholder="text">
             <?php echo csrf_field() ?>
             <?php echo honeypot_field() ?>
             <input type="submit" value="Submit">
 </form>

controller:
<?php

use Uniform\Form;

return function ($site, $pages, $page)
{

$form = new Form([
        'eingabe1' => []
    ]);

if (r::is('POST')) {
        $form->changeText(['neuertext' => $form]);
    };

return compact('form');
}; 

“changeText action”:

<?php

namespace Uniform\Actions;

use Error;
use Uniform\Form;

class changeText extends Action {
    public function perform() {
        $neuertext = $this->form->data();

try {
            page('testin')->update(['text' => $neuertext]);
        } catch (\Exception $e) {
            $this->fail($e->getMessage());
        }

}

}

i think the input is not submitted to $form but to be honest, i don’t really get what is/should happen there. maybe someone could explain how the form input goes into into the $form variable, or maybe i just get the whole thing wrong.

thanks in advance!

dennis

I think you need something similar to the session store example in the doc.

Are you just trying to retain previously entered fields after an error so that the user does not have to fill them in again? Looks like you already have that working and it’s possibly interfering with the text change you are trying to do.