Remove need for Template files when using JSON API

Hi,

I’m quite new to using Kirby. I’m looking to use the JSON Content Representation in conjunction with my front-end Nuxt app. I’ve been following along with the docs here:

https://getkirby.com/docs/guide/templates/content-representations#creating-a-representation

However, I’m unsure how to completely remove the need for the .php template files, leaving just the .json.php files to identify the data I want to retrieve from Kirby.

Is there a way to make the $data array in just one file, removing the need to have an empty template file alongside the JSON one?

I’d appreciate any help on this.

Thanks

Yes, use the default template (without the json bit) to return your json.

When I do that I get the following error:

http://127.0.0.1:8000/about.json not found

Would this be due to my routing being set up in a certain way?

You would have to remove the json bit from your request in that case as well…

I’ve removed the .json from the end of the request. I now get a 304 Not Modified. Does this mean that my data has not been added to the response?

For ref my about.php now looks like this:

<?php

$data = [
    'title' => $page->title()->value(),
    'email' => $page->email()->value(),
    'phone' => $page->phone()->value(),
    'address' => ['html' => $page->address()->kt()->value()],
    'text' => ['html' => $page->text()->kt()->value()],
    'social' => array_values($page->social()->toStructure()->map(function ($social) {
        return [
            'url' => $social->url()->value(),
            'platform' => $social->platform()->value()
        ];
    })->data())
];

echo json_encode($data);

What if you call the endpoint in a Rest tool or open it directly in the browser?

If i hit localhost:3000/about.json I only get some of the data back:

{
title: "About us",
text: {