LDAP login into panel?

Hi there :wave:

I have just started after ages with Kirby 3 and was working for an intranet for tenants of a dormitory. Currently, we are quite advanced and have our own LDAP server with some other services - so everyone is just using one login credential pair and can login everywhere in every service. By not going that much into details - is it possible to let Kirby also handle users via LDAP? So just accepting basically the entered credentials by calling the LDAP server which then verifies or denies the access?

Does someone has experiences with LDAP and Kirby?
Many thanks!

I don’t, but since release 3.2, you can create your own login view and logic: https://getkirby.com/docs/reference/plugins/extensions/panel-login

@texnixe Thanks for your answer. I will try it out and will see if I can even make a plugin out of it :slight_smile: I am quite new in writing a Kirby plugin but I guess the guides at the Kirby page will help.

I think a LDAP plugin would be wonderful @creichel! Would be nice if you share it. I don’t have a need for it right now but LDAP is so common that there will be a need by someone else any time.

hey @creichel, did you manage the problem?

Also: If the Kirby-side is the problem, I will be happy to help creating the plugin. I just have no clue about LDAP and what would be needed to send how to where to authenticate XD

I have built some crappy LDAP login code for Kirby 1 or 2, but that was long ago.

Here’s an example that actually doesn’t look too bad: https://samjlevy.com/php-ldap-login/

Thx @lukasbestle, this seems to be a good start, @distantnative?

Would you have a LDAP server to test against?

@demlak I have started to write the plugin but got utterly confused about how and when to connect to the LDAP server. It’s not that easy like REST :see_no_evil: :stuck_out_tongue:
Thus I replicating the necessary accounts now by hand. These aren’t so many but it would be more convenient to make just a button press to do so…