Kirby 3 - global image folder from panel

hi, i’m new to kirby 3 and no developer.

trying to solve a problem solved before in kirby 2.
like to have a global image folder.

in kirby 2 this did the trick.

/* Image Hooks ------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------ */
// copy file on upload to assets folder
kirby()->hook('panel.file.upload', function($file) {
  copy( $file->dir() . '/' . $file->filename(), kirby()->roots()->assets() . '/images/' . $file->filename() );
});
// delete file on delete from assets folder and upload folder
kirby()->hook('panel.file.delete', function($file) {
  unlink( kirby()->roots()->assets() . '/images/' . $file->filename() );
  unlink( $file->dir() . '/' . $file->filename() );
});
// replace file on replace from assets folder and upload folder
kirby()->hook('panel.file.replace', function($file) {
  copy( $file->dir() . '/' . $file->filename(), kirby()->roots()->assets() . '/images/' . $file->filename() );
});

how can this be done in kirby 3 ??

help appreciated

thank you

All you need to do is put a files section somewhere, perhaps in site.yml or even make a dedicated page. This will allow you to upload files. If you wish, you can then use subpages to make albums up, to group certain kinds of images together.

Then you can use the new query language on a files field in your other pages to pull those images in, regardless of where they are. Theres an example in reference for doing this on the files field.

What is your use case for copying all files to the assets folder? In Kirby 3, all files are moved to the media folder (i.e. outside the content folder) by default, anyway, so copying to the assets folder additionally doesn’t seem to make that much sense.

If you still want to move all images to the assets folder, you can of course do that using Kirby’s hooks as before. The only thing that has changed is the name of the hooks and how you register them.