If based on template name?

Hey folks,

I’d like to add an if statement to a button that’s based on the template used, but I have no idea how to do it. At the moment I have:

<a class="button" href="<?= $child->buttonlink() ?>"><?= $child->buttontext() ?></a>

But what I’d like is for it to do the following:

IF the template="template1" THEN:
    <a class="button" href="<?= $child->url() ?>">Read <?= $child->firstname() ?>'s posts</a>
ELSE
    <a class="button" href="<?= $child->buttonlink() ?>"><?= $child->buttontext() ?></a>
ENDIF

I assume this is possible, and very simple, with a PHP if but I’m not great with PHP, and I’m still learning Kirby, so I’m struggling.

Thanks,

Kev

You can use intendedTemplate() for this

$page->intendedTemplate() | Kirby CMS.

<?php if($page->intendedTemplate()->name() === 'template1'): ?>
  <a class="button" href="<?= $child->url() ?>">Read <?= $child->firstname() ?>'s posts</a>
<?php else: ?>
<?php endif ?>

Be aware of the subtle difference with ->template() - that will return the final template … for example, Kirby witll fall back to the default template if the template you wanted does not exist.

Small fix, must be

if($page->intendedTemplate()->name() === 'template1')

Otherwise the strict comparison will fail, because $page->intendedTemplate() returns a template object, not a string.

Ah good spot, thanks :slight_smile:

Thanks both for this. I’m getting pretty close, but it’s not quite right. I have children of a page that have one of two templates - UpcomingPenpal or ActivePenpal, and I want the button to change based on this template. Here’s what I have currently:

<?php if($child->intendedTemplate()->name() === 'UpcomingPenpal'): ?>
        <a class="button" href="<?= $child->link() ?>">Visit <?= $child->firstname() ?>'s site →</a>
<?php else: ?>
        <a class="button" href="<?= $child->url() ?>">Read our conversation →</a>
<?php endif ?>