Get caption of a specific image on a page, by numerical ID

Hello everyone,
I am rather new to all this. I tried to search for an answer to my question, but alas, I couldn’t find one. Maybe someone can help me, or point out the answer I missed.

What I would like to achieve goes like this:
I have a number, say 1. I would like to get the caption of the second image on the page.
How do I go about that?
$page->image(1)->caption() would have been my guess, but that was not a very good guess, apparently.

Many thanks in advance for your advice!

You can use the nth() method to fetch any item in a collection by number

if ( $image = $page->images()->nth(2) ) {
  echo $image->url();
}

With first() you can fetch the first image/file, with last() the last.

1 Like

Wow, thanks for the swift reply!

I could get to the image that way, it works as expected. But the caption still eludes me. $image->caption() does not work.
Can you enlighten me how to get hold of the caption?
Thank you!

If you have an image object as above, you should also get the caption with $image->caption(). Make sure the image does have a caption in the meta data.

Thank you.
There appears to be the issue. I use the editor and when I add an image, there is a caption field right below, so I figured I’d be ready to go.
Is there a way I can check if the caption was properly added to the image?

Hm. When fiddling with the image block snippet, var_dump($attrs) turned up with the caption as expected.
There, the syntax is $attrs->caption(), and there it works. :thinking:

I would expect the follwing code to work, but it just shows the image and an empty p tag:
<?php foreach($page->images() as $image) { ?>

<?= $image->caption(); ?>

<?php } ?>

Ah ok, you are in the Editor context and this caption is then not stored in the file metadata but in the Editor field in your content. So $image->caption() won’t work in this case.