Filter pages by year

Hi, I am using kirby for the first time to update my portfolio site and generally speaking I like it a lot!
Since I am not a developer I got stuck on an issue that is taking me quite some time to figure out:
I want to implement several pages that show the projects that I have done in a given year:

<?php $items = $pages->find('work')->children()->visible()->filter(function ($child) {  
return $child->published()->toDate('Y') == '2019';
}); ?> 

It works as long as I put in a fixed year (so I know it is working), but I need to access the different years form the date-field (that in my case is calles “published”) dynamically.

I have tried several things like:

<?php $items = $pages->find('work')->children()->visible()->filter(function ($child) { return $child->published()->toDate('Y') == print_r($page->published()->toDate('Y')); }); ?>

or

<?php $items = $pages->find('work')->children()->visible()->filter(function ($child) { return $child->published()->toDate('Y') == '$page->published()->toDate('Y')'; }); ?>

but I am stuck here, probably because the lack of some simple syntax knowledge.

Could you please point me in the right direction?
Thanks in advance!

If I understand you correclty, you want to list pages out grouped by year, and you are using Kirby 3?

You can group your collection by year using the group() method with a callback

<?php
$callback = function($p) {
  return $p->published()->toDate('Y');
};

$groups = $pages->find('work')->children()->listed()->group($callback); 

foreach($groupedItems as $year => $itemsPerYear): ?>
    <h2><?= $year ?></h2>
    <ul>
      <?php foreach($itemsPerYear as $item) : ?>
      <li><?= $item->title() ?></li>
      <?php endforeach; ?>
    </ul>
<?php endforeach ?>

Adapt the HTML to your liking.

Please note that visible() is deprecated in Kirby 3, use listed() instead.

3 Likes