Extending k-select-field/k-multiselect-field

Hi forum

I’m new to Vue.js and try to extend kirby’s fields k-select-field/k-multiselect-field.

Basically, I’d like to reuse k-select-field/k-multiselect-field but I’d like to serve the available options by a custom implementation.

This is what I did so far:

index.js:

panel.plugin('steineri/kirby-plugin-feg-visp', {
  fields: {
    PCOEvent: {
      extends: 'k-select-field'
    }
  }
});

config.php

<?php

Kirby::plugin('steineri/kirby-plugin-feg-visp', [
    'fields' => [
        'PCOEvent' => [
            'props' => [
                'options' => function () {
                    return [
                        ['value' => 'abc', 'text' => 'Option A'],
                        ['value' => 'xyz', 'text' => 'Option X']
                    ];
                }
            ]
        ]
    ]
]);

This is an excerpt of my test blueprint:

content:
    type: fields
    fields:
      title:
        label: Name
        type:  text
      pcoSource:
        type: PCOEvent
        label: pcoSource
      Categories:
        label: Select
        type: select
        options:
          abc: Option A
          xyz: Option X

I observe these custom options getting successfully served to the panel. Apparently, the options are served in the exact same way for both, Select and the extended field pcoSource:

While field Select works as expected, field pcoSource is empty and the panel looks like this:

Finally, that’ how the generated HTML code looks like:

Do I miss something? Does extension/inheritance not work the way I imagine it does? Or is this related to the bug described here?

Thank you very much!

Kirby uses your type: PCOEvent declaration to build the field (here). Because type is not a select input, that component is not loaded.

If you compare what is inside

<div data-theme="field" data-type="PCOEvent" class="k-input">...</div>

to

<div data-theme="field" data-type="select" class="k-input">...</div>