Excerpt method doesn't strip caption from image kirbytag

I’m using the excerpt method on some article text that often begins with an image kirbytag. (I prefer to use the kirbytag here instead of creating a cover image field.)

The excerpt correctly strips the “image:…” and “class: …” definitions in the kirbytag, but it seems to ignore the “caption: …” definition. So my exerpts often begin with an image caption!

I’m new to Kirby (just bought my first licence) and just beginning with php, so thanks for any help.

The excerpt() method shortens the text in your field. It doesn’t care where this text comes from, so this is not surprising.

To avoid that, there are several strategies:

1. Create a separate field for a short intro text. That way, you have full control over your text and don’t have to care what your full text starts with.
  2. Use a cover image instead of starting your articles with an image. Make sure that the articles always start with a useful paragraph.
  3. Create your own excerpt method that ignores kirbytags.

Hi Sonja,

Thanks for your swift reply, and your suggestions. I can see why the excerpt() method retains all the caption text it finds.

1. I’ve already got an intro field, but I want to also display a separate excerpt on a listing page.

2. I’ve tried a cover image, and but I’d like to keep all my image captions in a single markdown field along with the text. I really like how this is done in the Kirby panel — it’s compact, easy to edit, and in a highly portable format.

3. So that leaves creating my own excerpt method…

I’ve not got the skills to do that at the moment, but if it’s just a few lines of code, I’d appreciate any help and guidance on how to get started.