Development + production workflow?

Hi guys,

I’m new to Kirby, and really liking it so far.

Just wondering if you guys split your development/production environments in anyway? For example I’m using grunt to concatenate css and js, as well as run a few other tasks for my build of the site, however it seems running this task last minute then changing the script reference in my footer from something like:

<?php echo js('bower_components/jquery/dist/jquery.js')?>
<?php echo js('bower_components/jquery-ui/dist/jquery-ui.js')?>
<?php echo js('assets/js/slideshow.js')?>

to:

<?php echo js('js/scripts.js')?>

Isn’t the smartest way of doing things? I guess I could use only the built script in my footer during development, and then run a PHP sever with grunt, but this feels a bit…wrong? (especially for debugging etc.)

I hope this is clear. Cheers

You could use one config file per host, which would contain something like this:

c::set('scripts', array(
  'bower_components/jquery/dist/jquery.js',
  'bower_components/jquery-ui/dist/jquery-ui.js',
  'assets/js/slideshow.js'
));

or this:

c::set('scripts', 'js/scripts.js');

respectively.

In your footer, you can then use:

<?php echo js(c::get('scripts')); ?>

This will dynamically load the correct files.

4 Likes

Thanks, I’ll give that a go

For what it’s worth (and for anyone else’s future reference), I just use laravel-elixir for all front-end stuff. There’s not much fiddling you’ll have to do to get it working. There are a few things that I couldn’t get working (like BrowserSync), but not a big deal.

I link to the same files in dev as production. But when building for production, I just run gulp --production and the lib will minify, compress, etc. Then I push those up to the server.

This way I don’t have to mess with <link> hrefs or edit any configs for the sake of FE asset paths.

https://laravel.com/docs/5.2/elixir
https://www.npmjs.com/package/laravel-elixir