CSS-Class for same margins, paddings and so on?

Today I have a question about the use of CSS-Classes.

I don’t use a CSS-Framework and will write my own CSS. So, as a newbie I think about the easiest way to write it.

Something I think about is to create one or more CSS-Classes which I use when I need the same margins, paddings and so - e.g. the same margins between h1 and p-Elements on each site.

Will it be useful?

I hope you understand what I mean.

It’s probably useful in some cases, but I guess you’d have to override this margin/padding classes a lot.

You wrote you’re still a newbie, but maybe it would make sense to have a look at a preprocessor like Sass/SCSS? You can define variables and reuse them: http://sass-lang.com/guide

That’s how I do it most of the time:

$smallmargin: 20px;
$bigmargin: 45px;

You can even divide/multiple when using the variables anwhere like this:

p {
  margin: $smallmargin/2 0;
}

With a tool like Codekit or Prepros it’s pretty easy to get started with preprocessors.

1 Like

Your idea looks a lot like these two CSS projects:

I’ve been contemplating this approach myself. Since we can use snippets or the patterns plugin in Kirby we wouldn’t be duplicating HTML. I always have a hard coming up with class names. I’m looking forward to trying it out on my next project.

1 Like

@pedroborges
for even slimmer css you can also check out the “small” basscss library from the same developer:

http://jxnblk.com/gravitons/

I have been using those with extending my css in the same fashion (such as color, buttons etc.) and i am quite happy with it. previously using basscss, but at some point (guess v7) they changed many class names which had to be manually adjusted… thats when i dropped it.

1 Like

I got inspired by basscss recently. Now I have come up with a nice way of working with CSS to get organized.

1. Wrapper
  2. Module
  3. Global

We could call it WMG? :stuck_out_tongue:

<div class="header">
  <div class="module-logo">