I’m using user permissions and it works really fine for update / forbid updating a page or subpages.
When i forbid updating by a user its still possible to upload and delete files at this page. So can i control the permissions on a files section as well?
It might be possible that you have to set this in a “role”. See
https://getkirby.com/docs/guide/users/permissions for more info.
I have 2 different roles, admin and an editor who should be able to edit just one page. With the user role and permissions i can control if he is allowed to update an existing page or no. Thats fine and it works. But on a page where he is not allowed to edit anything he can deleted und upload files.
I try to forbid it but couldn’t find a way…
I see. Do you upload files to those files sections with a given file-template? Maybe you can set permission options in that file-template? See:
It works, yes and no. I can prevent that a file can be deleted but not a new will upload or rename the file. I will play a bit around with
https://getkirby.com/docs/guide/users/permissions#controlling-permissions-with-hooks controlling with hooks. But its not perfect
if there is a better way, would be really great.
Unpopular opinion: setting the
update permission of a page to
false should also prevent uploading/deleting files on this page.
For now, shouldn’t it be possible to set
create: false in the file blueprint?
@ThomasLal I’m curious, since you have two roles and each can only edit one page, why don’t you simply prevent the access to the other page entirely?
…you can prevent the access to that specific template completely. The user won’t even see the page in the panel
cause i miss this option in my blueprints
There are options to control what a user can do with files in a files blueprint, so you can forbid deleting, updating, changing name and replacing, but looks like you can’t prevent uploading (I tried add, create, upload, none of these worked).
I think we need a feature request if it doesn’t exist yet.
You can also still sort the images in the section. I think the entire section should go in a “read only” mode if the
update option is set to false.
Regarding file sorting, there is already this issue:
Once this is fixed, it should also be possible to prevent sorting on a per user role, I assume.
Nevertheless, I added a new issue:
03:25PM - 02 Feb 20 UTC
Describe the bug
While there are several file blueprint options that can be set on a per role basis, there are two...